Keep up to date with the latest news

Announcement of Changes to the Tuberculosis Screening System for Foreign Residents in Korea

From April 1, 2020, the Ministry of Justice, in consultation with the Korea Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, will expand the countermeasures against tuberculosis screening from 19 countries to 24 countries to strengthen the prevention of foreign tuberculosis patients from entering Korea.

Nationals subject to tuberculosis examination are required to submit a medical certificate of tuberculosis when applying for a long-term residence visa to enter the Republic of Korea.

Countries subject to mandatory tuberculosis testing.

Current (19 countries) :
Nepal, East Timor, Laos, Russia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Vietnam, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan, India, China, Indonesia, Cambodia, Kyrgyz Thailand, Pakistan, Philippines.

Changes (35 countries) including “Current 19 countries”.

Nigeria, Belarus, Moldova, Republic Angola, Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Tajikistan, South Africa, Mozambique, Azerbaijan, Ethiopia, Zimbabwe, Congo Democratic Republic, Papua New Guinea, Peru

Subject to submitting a TB diagnosis when applying for a visa

If a citizen of a country subject to tuberculosis testing is obliged to apply for a visa with the following status of residence to a diplomatic mission abroad in a country subject to a tuberculosis test, a certificate of tuberculosis must be submitted.

As below:

Korean Arts and Culture (D-1), Student (D-2), General trainee (D-4), Long-term News Coverage (D-5), Religious Worker (D-6), Intra-company Transferee (D-7), Corporate/Foreign Investor (D-8), or International Trade (D-9), Job Looking(D-10),
Short-term Employee (C-4), Professor (E-1), Foreign Language Instructor (E-2), Researcher (E-3), Technical Instructor/Technician (E-4), Professional (E-5), Arts/Athlete (E-6), Foreign National of Special Ability (E-7), Non-professional (E-9), Maritime Crew (E-10), Resident (F-2), Overseas Korean (F-4), Permanent Resident (F-5), Marriage Migrant (F-6), Working Holiday (H-1), Work and Visit (H-2)

Visas and subjects exempt from submitting TB diagnosis:

Diplomacy(A-1, Foreign Government Official(A-2), Short-Term News Coverage(C-1),
Short-Term Visitor(C-3),Short-Term Employee(C-4),Children under 6 years, pregnant women.